Activity 3: Attributes of a Good Clinical Teacher

Am I a good clinical teacher?

Am I a good clinical teacher?

by Chyssa Agnelli Pauig -
Number of replies: 2

I think my passion for teaching started during my residency days. Especially when I became the chief resident, I felt obligated and responsible for the learnings of my junior co-residents. Moreover,  I make it a point that every time we have interesting cases, I studied them well and share the learnings to my juniors. If a consultant taught me a certain technique in operating, I make sure to master it and teach it to my juniors. I actually believe in what Benjamin Franklin said " Tell me and I forget, teach me and I may remember, involve me and I learn".  The same principles that I apply till now. Do these things make me a good clinical teacher? I believe the attributes of a good clinical teacher are as follows:

1. Skilled communicators who are knowledgeable, committed.They posses good teaching skills. They take time to develop relationship with students and encourage student's participation. They provide honest, constructive feedback relevant to student's curricular stage. I know I have these skills however I still have a lot to master and learn the art of teaching, especially the giving of feedback. 

2. Empathic and approachable. These are important skills that a good teacher must have. When I was a medical student and resident, I experienced and learned that an empathic and approachable teacher promotes proactive participation of the students and also develop an interpersonal relationship.