Activity 1: MY STRESS RESPONSE

ORTIZ, Patricia Joy Antonette P. - Activity 1

ORTIZ, Patricia Joy Antonette P. - Activity 1

by Patricia Joy Antonette Ortiz -
Number of replies: 0

Stress helps you meet your daily challenges and motivates you to reach your goals, ultimately making you a smarter, happier, and healthier person. However, when you are stressed, what body reactions or clinical manifestations do you often experience? After studying the endocrine system and the stress response, can you explain how these clinical manifestations occur?

It is undeniable that humans continuously experience stress in our everyday lives. The day-to-day struggles we have to deal with, as well as the sudden life-changing events in life, may affect our emotions, in one way or another, depending on how we perceive them. Specifically, as a student, I often experience both types of stress: eustress and distress. Eustress greatly helps me in the constant pursuit of my goals and aspirations in life, whereas distress often happens whenever I feel too overwhelmed by all the requirements and other outside factors that contribute to it all.

In line with this, I notice several body reactions and clinical manifestations from the different stressors that I encounter. For instance, I often experience an increased heart rate, sudden headaches, uncharacterized coughing, waves of nausea, heightened sensitivity, and a lot more.